Program Manual

Marian Prayer

MARIAN PRAYER - Olie Dangerfield, Chairman

The Knights of Columbus has sponsored Marian Hour of Prayer programs since 1979. As part of this program the Order distributes pilgrim icons depicting the Blessed Virgin Mary under her various titles. The icon travels on a year-long journey from council to council in each of the Order’s jurisdictions throughout the world. These Marian icons serve as the focal point for prayer services held in council homes, churches or other locations. 

“The future of the world and of the Church passes through the family,” observed St. John Paul II, whom Pope Francis called “the Pope of the Family.” Recognizing the vital role of families in the world, the Knights of Columbus has dedicated its 17th Order wide

Prayer Program to the Holy Family, with the intention of strengthening Catholic families and their prayer lives. The featured image for this program is an etching of the Holy Family by Giovanni Balestra (1774-1842). The original etching, based on a painting by Giovanni Battista Salvi da Sassoferrato (1609-1685), is housed in the Pontifical John Paul II Institute for Studies on Marriage and Family in Rome.
Texas has ten of the Holy Family Images with a sturdy easel, books and prayer cards. Dioceses in possession of the icons in June 2017 will take the following actions:
1.    Turn in the icons and the book containers to the State Marian Hour of Prayer Chairman at the Organizational Meeting in July 2017.
2.    Store the sturdy easels for use with the images in the fall of 2017.

The following dioceses have the icons for the full two years:
Archdiocese of Galveston/Houston
Archdiocese of San Antonio
Diocese of Ft. Worth
Diocese of Dallas 
Diocese of Austin

The following dioceses share an icon. The diocese listed as the “First Year” will arrange with the diocese listed as the “Second Year” to receive the icons at a mutually agreed on time.
    First Year    Second Year
    Diocese of Beaumont    Diocese of Tyler
    Diocese of El Paso    Diocese of San Angelo
    Diocese of Laredo    Diocese of Brownsville
    Diocese of Corpus Christi    Diocese of Victoria
    Diocese of Amarillo    Diocese of Lubock 


©Texas State Council. All content on this website is copyrighted and the sole property of Texas State Council
and only can be used by the express permission of the Texas State Council. (512) 442-1492