Program Manual

PER CAPITA

PER CAPITA – Paul Bettge, Chairman


Per Capita is simply your Council’s dues to the Supreme Council and the Texas State Council. You are obligated by the order’s by-laws to pay your Council’s per Capita from the money you collect from your members for your Council’s annual dues. 
EXPLANATION OF SUPREME PER CAPITA BILLING
Supreme Council bills each Council $ 4.50 per member per year. This amount includes $ 3.50 per member for per capita charges (dues) and $ 1.00 per member for Catholic Advertising. The invoices are sent in two separate billings as follows:
$ 1.75 per capita + $ 0.50 Catholic Advertising = $ 2.25 per member billed on July 1 each year. Payment is due by October 10 of that year.
$ 1.75 per capita + $ 0.50 Catholic Advertising = $ 2.25 per member billed on January 1 each year. Payment is due by April 10 of that year
Supreme Council does NOT include Honorary Life Members in this billing. The number of members in a Council as of July 1 of each year is used to determine the actual charges. 
EXPLANATION OF STATE PER CAPITA BILLING
Texas State Council bills each Council $ 8.00 per member per year. Invoices are sent to the Grand Knight and Financial Secretary on record for each Council by the end of July of each year. State per Capita must be paid by March 1 of each year. The number of members in a Council as of July 1 of each year is used to determine the actual charges. 
EXPLANATION OF CREDITS
There is no charge for either Supreme or State per capita for Honorary Life Members. To be an Honorary Life Member you must be at least 70 years old with 25 consecutive years of service OR 50 years of consecutive service regardless of age OR an ordained priest or religious. Deacons are NOT included in this exception since they can work and be married. 
Inactive Insurance Members are credited at $ 9.00 per member by Supreme Council and with $ 3.50 per member by State Council. The total credited is $ 12.50 per member which is the amount charged for both Supreme ($ 4.50) and State ($ 8.00) per capita. Therefore, there is no net loss to the Council for Inactive Insurance Members.
Honorary Members are charged $ 10.00 per year for their Council dues and credited with $ 2.50 by State Council. This comes to a total of $ 12.50 which is the amount charged for the combination of Supreme and State per Capita. Therefore, there is no net loss to the Council for Honorary Members as long as your Council collects the $ 10.00 per year for Honorary Member dues. 
BOTTOM LINE – Your Council is charged $ 12.50 per REGULAR member per year for the combination of Supreme and State per Capita and Catholic Advertising. 
COLLEGE COUNCILS – College Councils are charged $ 4.00 per member for State per Capita
SEMINARY COUNCILS – Seminary Councils are exempt from payment of State per Capita
REACTIVATED COUNCILS – Upon request, Councils that are reactivated could be exempted from payment of overdue State per Capita by a vote of the Texas State Council Officers. They may also be exempted from payment of overdue Supreme per Capita after approval by the Supreme Council.
NEW COUNCILS – are exempt from payment of State per Capita for the first year of their formation.
WHAT HAPPENS IF MY COUNCIL DOES NOT PAY THEIR PER CAPITA?
Your Council will be suspended by Supreme Council if you do not pay your Supreme per Capita bill sent on July 1 by October 10 (90 days to pay).  Your Council will be suspended by Supreme Council if you do not pay your Supreme per Capita bill sent on January 1 by April 10 (90 days to pay). 


WHAT HAPPENS IF MY COUNCIL IS SUSPENDED BY SUPREME COUNCIL?
There are several things that happen when a Council is suspended by Supreme Council for non-payment of assessed per Capita including:
1. Your Council is not eligible for any awards including Star Council, Columbian Award, Founder’s Award or Father McGivney Award.
2. Your Council Members lose their rights to all automatic Fraternal Benefits awarded to members in good standing such as the 
automatic accidental death benefit for members and their spouses and the automatic death benefit if a child is stillborn or dies within 75 days of natural birth.


WHAT HAPPENS IF MY COUNCIL DOESN’T PAY THEIR STATE PER CAPITA?
Texas State Council does not have the power to suspend a Council. However, if you do not pay your State per Capita billed during July of each year by March 1, Texas State Council can and will do the following:
1. Not allow a Council to seat delegates at the Texas State Convention.
2. Not allow a representative of the Council to participate in the State Free Throw Contest.
3. Not allow a representative of the Council to receive an Educational Grant from State Council.
4. Not allow Council representatives to participate in State-sponsored athletic contests (golf tournament, bowling tournament, softball tournament, etc.).
5. Your Council is not eligible for State Awards such as the Lone Star Award for Excellence or the Lone Star Award for Excellence with Distinction, Texas Spirit Award for Excellence or the Texas Spirit Award for Excellence with Distinction.
 


 

2017-2018 Star Guide


©Texas State Council. All content on this website is copyrighted and the sole property of Texas State Council
and only can be used by the express permission of the Texas State Council. (512) 442-1492